WILLIAMSPORT

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

The town of Williamsport lies on one of the early Native American trails between New York and the Carolinas.  In the mid-18th century, tens of thousands of European settlers and pioneer families with their wagons followed the same route on the Great Wagon Road from Pennsylvania to Virginia and points south and west.  In 1744, a ferry was established at the present site of Williamsport to carry the traffic across the Potomac River.  Today’s travelers make the crossing on Interstate 81 a mile downriver from the town.

Williamsport was previously owned by Otho Holland Williams, a Continental Army officer in the American Revolutionary War, and for whom the town is named.

ATTRACTIONS/TOURISM

Williamsport Town Hall

2 N Conococheague St.

Williamsport, MD  21795

301-223-7711

www.wiliamsportmd.gov

SCHOOLS

Research is available for Williamsport’s Elementary, Middle and High Schools as wells as private schools:

www.wcpsmd.com/schools/williamsport-elementary

www.wcpsmd.com/schools/williamsport-high

www.greatschools.org/maryland/williamsport

PARKS

Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park

16519 Lappans Rd

Williamsport, MD  21795

301-223-7117

Williamsport Park

124 W Salisbury St.

Williamsport, MD  21795

www.williamsportmarylandparks.com

EVENTS

An up to date list of all the activities and events held in and around the town of Williamsport, Maryland:

www.williamsportmd.gov/visitors